Hot Cross Buns – warm, fruity and bready goodness

I felt like getting into the Easter spirit today, so I made Hot Cross Buns! My first attempt ever, and they are soo worth it.

Hot, sweet, glazed buns ready for afternoon tea! Delish!!!

Hot, sweet, glazed buns ready for afternoon tea! Delish!!!

Although you can buy them quite cheaply at Woolies, nothing compares to home-made, and the smell coming out of the oven was divine.  I’m going to have a crack at another Eastery treat for this weekend, I’m thinking something small and sweet, chocolaty and eggy shaped….maybe some hot cross bun truffles….. Although these buns were delicious, its probably not the type of thing you can whip up for a Sunday breakfast, unless you have some fancy shmancy kitchen gadget, which I don’t!

I used this Hot Cross Bun recipe from my favourite cooking website (Taste) and altered it slightly to include mixed peel, substituting sultanas instead of currants (didn’t have any).

I used a combination of cinnamon and nutmeg instead of mixed spice (I had allspice but I have a feeling that is an entirely different flavour, more used in savoury dishes??)

The kneading can get a bit tiring, but luckily I can see my tv from my kitchen so I watched a bit of “Say Yes to the Dress” while I was kneading away. I did notice my arms were a bit shaky afterwards, but maybe that’s just a sign that I’m a weakling 🙂

Here is a visual walk-through, and if it takes your fancy, check the recipe out 🙂

Mixing the dry ingredients together.

Mixing the dry ingredients together.

 

Adding in the wet ingredients (melted butter, milk, eggs)

Adding in the wet ingredients (melted butter, milk, eggs)

Ingredients mixed together, ready to begin the 10 minutes kneading.

Ingredients mixed together, ready to begin the 10 minutes kneading.

 

Ready for proving (dough is placed in an oiled bowl, covered in wrap and placed in a warm spot for 1.5 hrs)

Ready for proving (dough is placed in an oiled bowl, covered in wrap and placed in a warm spot for 1.5 hrs)

The dough has doubled in size.

The dough has doubled in size.

 

The dough has been kneaded again and is being divided up into 12 even portions.

The dough has been kneaded again and is being divided up into 12 even portions.

12 portions ready for another .5 hs proving time (dough puffes up lovely and soft)

12 portions ready for another .5 hs proving time (dough puffes up lovely and soft)

 

Ready for baking! The buns have had the water/flour mix piped on top.

Ready for baking! The buns have had the water/flour mix piped on top.

Hot, sweet, glazed buns ready for afternoon tea! Delish!!!

Hot, sweet, glazed buns ready for afternoon tea! Delish!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Hot Cross Buns – warm, fruity and bready goodness

    • I went to Ms Lily with a friend for lunch, and I must say this is worse food I have tasetd. I could not eat the meal . The coconut water was so stale, I could not drink this either. I walked out without eating .Very disappointing

    • Woohoo!!! So happy to hear that, Jools! Glad that the recipes are wonrikg for you with the flour change you are having to do too. Are individual gluten-free flours not available there? I’ve heard of the Doves Farm GF Flour, seems to be a popular one over there.Thanks for the support, I appreciate it!

  1. Oh my, dear Jeanine, where have you been all my glutenfree bainkg years? This is the second recipe I tried after being completely blown away by those AMAZING cinnamon buns (within three weeks a firm favourite of my coeliac daughter, the rest of my non-coeliac family, friends and neighbours, they beg me for it, can you imagine?)And again this is a winner! I got the exact pizzacrust you promised: thin, light, crispy, tastefull and indeed holding it’s shape. And very important: super easy to make! And mind you, my rapid-rise yeast was rather old, still got this beautiful result. I used Doves Farm Gluten Free White Bread Flour which combines more or less the first two ingredients and which is easily obtainable over here. If you’re ever in need of a European testpanel, please let me be in it! For the time being I will definitely keep on checking your blog and frantically be repinning your recipes. Thanks sooo much!!!

Leave a Reply

